The Great Brain

The Great Brain

Book - 1967
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
2
1
 …
Penguin Putnam
This first book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

The best con man in the Midwest is only ten years old.  Tom, a.k.a., the Great Brain, is a silver-tongued genius with a knack for turning a profit.  When the Jenkins boys get lost in Skeleton Cave, the Great Brain saves the day.  Whether it's saving the kids at school, or helping out Peg-leg Andy, or Basil, the new kid at school, the Great Brain always manages to come out on top-and line his pockets in the process.

Baker & Taylor
Describes the exploits of the Great Brain of Adenville, Utah in the words of his younger brother, frequently the victim of the Great Brain's schemes for gaining prestige and money.

Baker
& Taylor

In a small town in turn-of-the-century Utah, a precocious ten-year-old boy hatches scheme after scheme to gain prestige and money. Reissue.

Publisher: New York : Dial Press, [1967]
ISBN: 9780142400586
0142400580
Characteristics: 175 p. : ill ; 22 cm
Additional Contributors: Mayer, Mercer 1943-- Illustrator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
7
7vic
Aug 15, 2013

i love it

h
humbleworm
May 14, 2012

I read this entire series as a child and am now re-reading these books to my kids. These stories from a simpler time are entertaining and occasionally informative.

c
crazyman13
Mar 30, 2012

The Great Brain a must read!

d
dschan
Jul 27, 2011

I read this series when I was in 2nd or 3rd grade. It was fun as I escaped into another time and place through these adventures. I'm in my 40's now, and just read it again. Good times!

e
ericachan
Jan 23, 2011

It was a good book! Ending was VERY good!

c
calluna
Mar 04, 2010

Wonderful read!

Excellent for reading to kids - each chapter is a short story unto itself.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
p
pink_llama_269
Oct 03, 2017

pink_llama_269 thinks this title is suitable for 7 years and over

h
humbleworm
May 14, 2012

humbleworm thinks this title is suitable for 6 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
7
7vic
Mar 26, 2014

the great brain is smarter than every boy in town and most groun-ups. he jas out smarted is younger brother so many times i have lost count.

Quotes

Add a Quote
VeganGreen Aug 11, 2012

"...with enough tall-tale exaggeration to catch the imagination of any mischievous [kid]." -- The Horn Book

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at WPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top