Magic - A Strange Science Book

Magic - A Strange Science Book

Book - 2003
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Explains the world of magic and how it relates to actual science, including who the first magicians were, how to see into the future, and how to heal using magic.

Firefly Books Ltd

True magic more amazing than fiction.

Fictional wizards such as Gandalf and Harry Potter are no match for readers of Magic, Sylvia Funston's latest addition to the Strange Science series. Magic has long been a topic of perennial interest to children and adults alike -- and today more so than ever, with the phenomenal successes of Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings.

All around the world and throughout history, magic has been used to explain the inexplicable. Now, Magic goes beyond the wand, behind the broomstick and inside the crystal ball to reveal all the scientific secrets that explain magical occurrences.

From the Aurora Borealis to the secrets of the runes, through healing magic, superstitions, alchemy, and movie magic, young readers will discover that magic has many forms.

Topics covered include:

  • Who were the first magicians?
  • Seeing the future
  • Healing magic
  • Tools of the trade
  • Stage and screen magic
  • Magic tomorrow -- will science explain all of life's mysteries?


Scientific explanations of the magic used throughout history -- topics include magicians, seeing the future, magical healing, stage and screen magic, and more.

Publisher: Toronto : Maple Tree Press, 2003
ISBN: 9781894379342
1894379349
Characteristics: p. ; cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at WPL.

Try searching for Magic - A Strange Science Book to see if WPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top