A Study in Charlotte

A Study in Charlotte

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
14
2
1
Rate this:
HARPERCOLL

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She’s inherited Sherlock’s volatility and some of his vices—and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she’s not looking for friends.

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.



Publisher: New York :, Katherine Tegen Books,, 2017
Edition: First paperback edition
Copyright Date: ©2016
ISBN: 9780062398918
Characteristics: 321, 15 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
snoflake22
Sep 10, 2017

As an adult and Sherlock fan I really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read the next. However, due to the swearing, drugs and rape, wouldn't let my tween or teens read it.

g
Gwen006
Jul 21, 2017

My 11 year old daughter checked this out, randomly turned to page 15 and found the "f" word and the "a" word.

All I could tell her was that I suppose the author has a lack of imagination.

r
red_sheep_101
May 16, 2017

I didn't really enjoy the book as a whole very much. It kind of kept lagging on and on, and there weren't enough action scenes to keep me entertained. Also, the vocabulary was pretty advanced.

samdog123 May 02, 2017

Absolutely a wonderful read for anyone who loves Sherlock Holmes mysteries. This one is geared towards teens and young adults due to some mature subject matter. The twist here is that Holmes is Charlotte Holmes and Watson is Jamie Watson. After they meet up at a private school in the U.S., Holmes and Watson become a precarious pair as they learn to know and trust each other. When someone begins copying Sherlock Holmes stories to try and blame the crimes on them, then 'the game's afoot.' This is the first book in a series--I listened to in on the audio book version and really loved it. Next in the series is 'The Last of August,' a play on words-when you read the story you'll get it.

r
rachaelbriana
Apr 04, 2017

I listened to this as an audiobook (Hoopla) and enjoyed every aspect of it; the throwbacks to the originals, the incorporation of heavy teen issues and the relationship between Charlotte and Watson. The only downside was that Watson's voice was supposed to be British and the narrator hardly included any of that. I would have been delighted if the whole thing had been read like the epilogue was.

d
darladoodles
Feb 02, 2017

I thought this modern twist on Holmes & Watson was creative and beautifully written. The core of the relationship is transferred into this story with modern conveniences/dilemmas and the tension that exists in the original pairing.

Holmes needs Watson for many reasons, but also struggles with her superior observation skills and keeping him in the loop. It will be interesting to see how many old Holmes tales are resurrected in the next installment.

j
jessica_reads
Jan 18, 2017

It's refreshing to see a female personification of Sherlock Holmes in Charlotte, and Jamie Watson is charming in his own right. There are plenty of references to the original stories, and naturally they are descendants of the famous duo, and that comes with all sorts of expectations and baggage. It's also pretty funny.

This novel addresses addiction, rape, and family problems in addition to a murder investigation and high school crushes. It's not particularly brutal, but I would recommend this to a more mature reader.

PinesandPrejudice Dec 09, 2016

I was disappointed in this from the start. I didn't like the premise that they were descendants of the characters. I struggled with the mystery. I couldn't care for the characters they way I wanted to. Sherlock gets away with being an ass because he is brilliant but Charlotte didn't seem to live up to that name, which is part of the point of the story but I couldn't get into it. Even the mystery I had figured out easily which half the reason I like Sherlock mysteries is because I can't figure them out. Anyway, it wasn't my favorite and if you want a Sherlock retelling/adaptation, there are plenty of others to choose from.

b
bookycakes
Sep 29, 2016

I LOOOVED this. I can't wait to dig deeper into these characters (especially August and Mycroft *swoon*). This is a great spin of the classic, with so many awesomely subtle additions of Sherlock Holmes' more less-known personality behaviors (if that makes sense) to Charlotte and her relationship with Watson! Different enough to be unique, close enough to the classic to make it familiar and lovable.

A fun new spin on the Sherlock Holmes stories; this time starring Charlotte Holmes, troubled teen detective, and her sidekick Jamie Watson. A great choice for mystery lovers and fans of the BBC Sherlock tv series.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

s
snoflake22
Sep 10, 2017

snoflake22 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

g
Gwen006
Jul 21, 2017

Gwen006 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

a
abaumler
Sep 06, 2017

Rival teens Charlotte and Jamie, descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson, investigate the mystery of why they are being framed for murder at their American boarding school.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top