Normandy

Normandy

Breaching the Atlantic Wall : From D-Day to the Breakout and Liberation

eBook - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Quayside Pub Group

Told in full, in never-before-seen detail, this is the first complete illustrated history of Operation Overlord, the Allied invasion of France. The book's on-the-ground and behind-the-scenes accounts of both the attacking Allies and the defending Germans offer a uniquely broad perspective on the Normandy landing and subsequent battles. Dominique Francois, a noted expert on D-Day and Normandy, begins with the German's occupation of the region, the building of the Atlantic Wall by Rommel, and preparations for the defense of the French Coast. Moving back and forth between the Germans and the Allies, he captures the tension of the buildup on both sides, the training in England, and the aerial preparation of the battle field by U. S. Air Forces.  
 
The Dieppe Raid, the tragedy at Slapton Sands, the drama of the embarkation, the night drops, the landing--all of these are depicted in remarkable photographs and descriptions that put readers in the middle of action. From the beaches to the breakout and race across France, this expertly told and illustrated volume makes a critical moment in WWII history real for all readers and all time.

9781617730276 Eighteenth-century anatomist Dr. Thomas Silkstone travels to the English countryside to unravel a tangled web of mystery, medicine, and murder—in this captivating new novel from Tessa Harris…

A man staggers out of his cottage into the streets of Oxfordshire, shattering an otherwise peaceful evening with the terrible sight of his body shaking and heaving, eyes wild with horror. Many of the villagers believe the Devil himself has entered Joseph Makepeace, the latest victim of a “great fog” that darkens the skies over England like a Biblical plague. When Joseph's son and daughter are found murdered—heads bashed in by a shovel—the town's worst suspicions are confirmed: Evil is abroad, and needs to be banished.

A brilliant man of science, Dr. Thomas Silkstone is not one to heed superstition. But when he arrives at the estate of the lovely widow Lady Lydia Farrell, he finds that it's not just her grain and livestock at risk. A shroud of mystery surrounds Lydia's lost child, who may still be alive in a workhouse. A natural disaster fills the skies with smoke and ash, clogging the lungs of all who breathe it in. And the grisly details of a father's crime compels Dr. Silkstone to look for answers beyond his medical books—between the Devil and the deep blue sea…

Praise for The Dead Shall Not Rest

“Outstanding…well-rounded characters, cleverly concealed evidence and an assured prose style point to a long run for this historical series.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Populated with real historical characters and admirably researched, Harris's novel features a complex and engrossing plot. A touch of romance makes this sophomore outing even more enticing. Savvy readers will also recall Hilary Mantel's The Giant, O'Brien.” —Library Journal

Praise for The Anatomist's Apprentice

“Densely plotted… We await—indeed, demand—the sequel.” —The New York Times Book Review

“An absorbing debut… Harris has more than a few tricks up her sleeve and even veteran armchair puzzle solvers are likely to be surprised.” —Publishers Weekly

“Smart misdirection and time-period appropriate medical details make for a promising start to a new series. A strong choice for readers of Ariana Franklin and Caleb Carr.” —Library Journal



Grand Central Pub

Told in full, in never-before-seen detail, this is the first complete illustrated history of Operation Overlord, the Allied invasion of France. The book’s on-the-ground and behind-the-scenes accounts of both the attacking Allies and the defending Germans offer a uniquely broad perspective on the Normandy landing and subsequent battles.Dominique Francois, a noted expert on D-Day and Normandy, begins with the German’s occupation of the region, the building of the Atlantic Wall by Rommel, and preparations for the defense of the French Coast.Moving back and forth between the Germans and the Allies, he captures the tension of the buildup on both sides, the training inEngland, and the aerial preparation of the battle field by U. S. Air Forces.

The Dieppe Raid, the tragedy at Slapton Sands, the drama of the embarkation, the night drops, the landing--all of these are depicted in remarkable photographs and descriptions that put readers in the middle of action.From the beaches to the breakout and race across France, this expertly told and illustrated volume makes a critical moment in WWII history real for all readers and all time.



Mbi Pub Co

Told in full, in never-before-seen detail, this is the first complete illustrated history of Operation Overlord, the Allied invasion of France. The book’s on-the-ground and behind-the-scenes accounts of both the attacking Allies and the defending Germans offer a uniquely broad perspective on the Normandy landing and subsequent battles. Dominique Francois, a noted expert on D-Day and Normandy, begins with the German’s occupation of the region, the building of the Atlantic Wall by Rommel, and preparations for the defense of the French Coast. Moving back and forth between the Germans and the Allies, he captures the tension of the buildup on both sides, the training in England, and the aerial preparation of the battle field by U. S. Air Forces.

The Dieppe Raid, the tragedy at Slapton Sands, the drama of the embarkation, the night drops, the landing--all of these are depicted in remarkable photographs and descriptions that put readers in the middle of action. From the beaches to the breakout and race across France, this expertly told and illustrated volume makes a critical moment in WWII history real for all readers and all time.


The first complete illustrated history of Operation Overlord, the Allied invasion of France, with accounts of both the attacking Allies and the defending Germans.



Publisher: Minneapolis : Zenith Press, 2008
ISBN: 9781616732363
1616732369
0760333270
9780760333273
Characteristics: 1 online resource (300 pages) : illustrations (some color), color maps

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top