Hood

Hood

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Kate Wall is flying to Dublin for the funeral of her younger sister Cara. Staying with her sedentary father and sister's housemate Pen, Kate comes to realize several things: that Pen and Cara were lovers, that she herself is more Irish than she thought and that the past is ever present.

HARPERCOLL
From the New York Times bestselling author of Room,Emma Donoghue, Hood is a graceful tale of a young woman who must come toterms with love and loss in the wake of her partner’s sudden passing. The NewYork Times Book Review calls Hood “utterly charming,” writing that,“Ms. Donoghue displays her confidence by avoiding the grandiose and the showy,and dipping into the ordinary with control and the occasional sustainingdescriptive flashes of a born writer.” For readers of Jeanette Winterson’s Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit and JoyceCarol Oates’s The Widow’s Story, Donoghue’s Hood is a masterfullycrafted narrative of relationships and a daring, deft exploration of the love’simperfection—and how it can nonetheless dominate our lives as we grow andchange.

Baker
& Taylor

Attending the funeral of her lesbian lover, Pen O'Grady recalls their turbulent fourteen-year relationship, which encompassed shared terms in convent school, Cara's personality oddities, and bittersweet infidelities.

Publisher: New York : Harper Perennial, 2011, c1995
Edition: 1st Harper Perennial ed
ISBN: 9780062117106
Characteristics: 309 p. ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
WPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top