The Perfect Age

The Perfect Age

Book - 2004
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
When her daughter embarks upon a first job as a hotel pool lifeguard, Kathy, feeling adrift in her too-stable marriage, begins an affair with her daughter's boss, in a story that traces the sexual awakenings of both mother and daughter throughout the course of three summers. A first novel.

Norton Pub
A sun-baked, beautifully observed debut for readers who loved Amy and Isabellea mother and daughter come of age in Las Vegas. Helen is just fifteen, lanky and striking. She is a lifeguard at the pool at The Dunes hotel this summerher first job, a step toward independence in a world beginning to treat her as an adult and a woman. Her mother, Kathy, watching Helen grow up, suddenly finds herself in a place equally uncertain: her children getting older, her stable marriage perhaps too stable, the slow days of summer leaving her adrift. When she meets Helen's boss, the manager at the pool, she chooses an affair that opens her to the idea of a different sort of life. Following Helen and Kathy through three summers, this novel is an intimate picture of two sexual awakenings under one roof and their aftershocks on a family. Heather Skyler shows us that the validity of life's deepest experienceslove, betrayal, acceptanceis never compromised by age.

Baker
& Taylor

When her daughter starts a job as a lifeguard, Kathy, feeling adrift in her marriage, begins an affair with her daughter's boss, in a story that traces the sexual awakenings of both mother and daughter.

Publisher: New York : W.W. Norton & Co., c2004
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780393058703
0393058700
Characteristics: 394 p. ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at WPL.

Try searching for The Perfect Age to see if WPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top