Pachinko

Pachinko

A Novel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
20
1
Rate this:
"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York :, Grand Central Publishing,, 2017
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781455563937
Characteristics: 490 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
TechLibrarian Feb 02, 2018

I chose this book for several reasons. One, it was nominated for the 2017 National Book Award. Second, it's a family saga, and family sagas are a genre I tend to gravitate towards. Lastly, I like reading to learn about other cultures, and Pachinko is about a Korean family who immigrates to Japan.... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

lindab1111 May 03, 2018

It felt like I have read this book before. Different country, different names but the same basic story of families being forced to flee villages, women's plight of trying to find love with a man who has money, and so on. Perhaps I'm thinking of Lisa See or Amy Tan. Anyway, I stayed with it till the end.

j
jr3083
May 02, 2018

I really enjoyed this book. It’s long, and not for nothing does Lee cite Dickens in her epigram to Part 1 of the book (“Home is a name, a word, it is a strong one; stronger than magician ever spoke, or spirit answered to, in strongest conjuration”). The book evoked Dickens in its sweep and length, and I found it entirely engrossing, luxuriating in a whole Easter Sunday to sit and finish it in one big gulp.

Read my complete review at:
https://residentjudge.wordpress.com/2018/05/02/pachinko-by-min-jin-lee/

ArapahoeJulia Apr 13, 2018

This book was incredible, I loved reading it. The author gave every character a voice, you even got perspectives from characters that didn't end up being main players, which gave the reader a more well rounded story.

p
peacebenow
Apr 04, 2018

Story follows a families journey from Korea to Japan through the 1900s. The effect of Japanese culture gave new life to some Koreans but also was very limited by Japanese Culture and their seemingly ingrained views. Would like to understand the history of 1900s Korea a bit more. People want to preserve their culture yet there are so many refugees in the world mostly caused by war/bad politics..... a lot of food for thought and the importance of kindness and tolerance all over our world. The book did slow a bit as the story changed between characters in the 2nd half only to pick up again once story line re-emerged. Very enlightening!

DPLjennyp Mar 27, 2018

Dickensian tale of a Korean family living in Japan through the generations. Sweeping and lyrical, to be savored.

g
gvbooklover
Mar 26, 2018

Epic story spanning from PreWW2 to 70's - story of immigrants (Koreans in Japan). I read it until late at night.

c
cknightkc
Mar 23, 2018

PACHINKO is a sprawling saga that follows 4 generations of a Korean family who immigrate to Japan in the mid-twentieth century. This lengthy piece of historical fiction gets its title from a popular gambling pastime of Japan which is a cross between pinball and a slot machine. This “game of chance” is introduced midway through the book and plays an integral role to the story and character arcs, but what’s more, author Min Jin Lee deftly uses it as a metaphor for life. PACHINKO offers a fascinating look at history, culture, race, class, identity, and family. Although the final third of the book didn’t “grab” me as much as the rest, I would still recommend it, especially for fans of character-driven period/foreign dramas.

Cynthia_N Mar 17, 2018

I was expecting something a little more peaceful but this family goes through quite a few trials. It was somehow harsh to read and beautiful.

TechLibrarian Feb 02, 2018

I chose this book for several reasons. One, it was nominated for the 2017 National Book Award. Second, it's a family saga, and family sagas are a genre I tend to gravitate towards. Lastly, I like reading to learn about other cultures, and Pachinko is about a Korean family who immigrates to Japan. I was spellbound from the first few pages, which reminded me of Steinbeck or of The Good Earth by Pearl Buck. A little ways in, because I have a big hands on project in the works, I switched to the audiobook. It was just as captivating. I really grew attached to these well developed characters, and also learned lots that I hadn't known about Korean culture, WWII and the Korean war, and especially, the plight or Korean immigrants in Japan. This book requires some commitment, as it's lengthy, but it's really well crafted and worth the time. And, perhaps, timely, given the 2018 Olympics!

e
EmilyEm
Dec 10, 2017

Years in the writing, this sweeping saga following the lives of Korean immigrants in Japan in the last century unveiled new history to me. Poignant, funny, heartwarming, tragic—all features of a good story. Loved it.

View All Comments

Notices

Add Notices

t
Tjad2L
Aug 23, 2017

Sexual Content: explicit sexual content

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top