The Art of the Possible

The Art of the Possible

A Handbook for Political Activism

Book - 2007
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
A political insider tells us how we can make a difference. A must-read for fans of The Rebel Sell and Naomi Klein’s No Logo.

What difference can one person make? If I’m not a famous actor, rock star, or multi-millionaire philanthropist, what do I really have to offer?

The notion that the government is open only to a few is a myth. In fact, our political system is incredibly accessible, but the misguided belief that people can only participate through elections is threatening our democracy. Democracy is not only for the well-funded, the entrenched, or the few.

If we are interested in seeing actual changes to policy, we need more reformers. Rather than rejecting government, The Art of the Possible demonstrates how working through government can be the most direct route to social progress. Having an impact is possible. It is a matter of knowing how government works and making sure your point of view is presented how and when it counts.

During her time with the United Nations and Amnesty International, and as human rights adviser to two federal cabinet ministers, Amanda Sussman was offered a unique bird’s-eye view of government machinations. Through extensive interviews with insiders such as Joe Clark and Jack Layton and outsiders such as Alex Neve (Secretary General, Amnesty International Canada), Sussman offers the most comprehensive step-by-step advice on how and when to make the strongest possible argument for your cause.

Publisher: Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, c2007
ISBN: 9780771083402
Characteristics: 335 p. ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at WPL.

Try searching for The Art of the Possible to see if WPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top